The Woodlands Area Economic Development Partnership Announces New Officers & Board of Directors

By: Ashley Byers
| Published 10/13/2020


The Woodlands, TX -- The Woodlands Area Economic Development Partnership (EDP) held its Partner Celebration on Thursday, October 8, 2020 at The Club at Carlton Woods. The partially outdoor event honored 2019-2020 Chairman of the Board, Ron Roberson of Caldwell Companies and welcomed the incoming 2020-2021 Board Officers and Directors.

Historically the Partner Celebration occurs immediately following the Annual Meeting, but due to the pandemic the reception was postponed to October. The EDP Annual Meeting was held virtually in August where Jim Calvetti, Immediate Past Chairman and Chairman of the Nominating Committee, with Calvetti Ferguson announced the newly appointed officers and board members for the 2020-2021 term. The outgoing 2019-2020 board members were recognized for their contributions, Jim Calvetti, Calvetti Ferguson; Dan Michalk, Waterway Wealth Management and Judy Olson, Spirit of Texas Bank. Gil Staley, CEO, provided an organizational overview of accomplishments for the past fiscal year. The virtual meeting concluded with an awards presentation for the 2019-2020 officers and a special recognition to Don Norrell, President and General Manager of The Woodlands Township, on his upcoming retirement.

“While it was unusual to present our annual report virtually, it was well received by our Partners. It was especially nice to follow our virtual meeting with an end-of-year celebration at The Club at Carlton Woods. The excellent attendance confirmed that our members enjoyed the time to reconnect and network while following safety protocols” said Gil Staley, Chief Executive Officer of the EDP.

Effective September 1, 2020 the newly appointed 2020-2021 officers include Chairman, Josh Urban with Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center; Vice-Chairman, Paul Carroll with Avion Wealth; Secretary, Steve Smith with BB&T now Truist Bank; Treasurer, Christin Allphin with Woodforest National Bank and Immediate Past Chairman, Ron Roberson with Caldwell Companies.

Also, effective September 1, 2020 the 2020-2021 board members include Gold Partners: Gordy Bunch, The Woodlands Township; Jeff Jones, The Woodlands Township; Steve Pate, Strike, LLC; Alex Sutton, The Howard Hughes Corporation®; Silver Partners: Christin Allphin, Woodforest National Bank; Ryan Edone, Petroleum Wholesale; Cindy Frazee, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Trent Fulin, Houston Methodist The Woodlands Hospital; Dr. Steve Head, Lone Star College System; Ben Jones, McKesson Specialty Health; Scott Kitchen; Consolidated Communications; Jim Parisi, CHI St. Luke’s Health; Steve Pilgrim, Entergy Texas; Bret Strong, The Strong Firm; Josh Urban, Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center; Whitney Wall, Wells Fargo; Occidental Petroleum Corporation; Public/Permanent Partners: Dawn Candy, City of Oak Ridge North; Rob Eissler, Westwood Magnolia Parkway Improvement District; Danny Gallant, Stephen F. Austin State University; Frank Holmes, Sam Houston State University; Commissioner James Noack, Montgomery County Precinct 3; Mayor Ritch Wheeler, City of Shenandoah; JJ Hollie, The Woodlands Area Chamber of Commerce and Bronze Partners: Paul Carroll, Avion Wealth; Haley Garcia, Haley Garcia Group, Ron Roberson, Caldwell Companies; Steve Smith, BB&T now Truist Bank; Bruce Tough, The Tough Law Firm; and Melissa Young, Corporate Incentives.

# # #

The Woodlands Area Economic Development Partnership (EDP) was established in 1997 and is a 503(c)(6) non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the economic development of The Woodlands Area through the support of existing businesses and the recruitment of new businesses that can bring job opportunities and capital investment to the area.

The EDP is the only membership based economic development organization in Montgomery County, consisting of a public/private partnership with 87 funding partners active in the organization. For further information on the EDP, log on to: or call 281 363-8130.

Comments •
Log In to Comment