Voters select three new Lone Star College Board of Trustees members

By: Bill Van Rysdam/Jed T. Young
| Published 11/07/2018


HOUSTON, Texas -- The Lone Star College Board of Trustees will have three new members following last night’s election. The new members will each serve six year terms and be officially sworn in during the December 6, 2018 Board of Trustees meeting.

Representing District 1 will be Michael Stoma, District 2 Ernestine M. Pierce and District 8 Mike Sullivan.

“I look forward to working with the new members of the Lone Star College Board of Trustees,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “I also want to express my gratitude to the outgoing and returning board members for their commitment to ensure our students receive the highest quality of education possible.”

Trustees are elected by voters who live in the LSC district for which the single-member district election is being held. LSC trustees serve staggered terms – three of nine trustees come up for election every two years – so that there are always experienced members sitting on the board.

“I would personally like to thank David Holsey, Kyle Scott and Ron Trowbridge for their years of service,” said Head. “I hope they understand the incredible impact they have had on our students.”

In addition to the new members, Alton Smith, Art Murillo, David Vogt, Myriam Saldívar, Linda Good and Ken Lloyd will continue to serve on the board.

Comments •
Log In to Comment