Lone Star College Chancellor Chosen to Join American Associate of Community Colleges Board of Directors

By: Bill Van Rysdam
| Published 06/10/2020

Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor has been selected to serve on the American Association of Community Colleges board of directors.

HOUSTON, TX - Lone Star College Chancellor Stephen C. Head, Ph.D. has been selected to join the board of directors of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

The board voted unanimously to certify the results of the 2020 Board Election during a June 4 Zoom meeting. Head will join seven other newly-elected board members for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2020, and ending June 30, 2023.

“Steve Head is highly respected by his peers around the country as evidenced by his appointment to a coveted position on the AACC board,” said Walter G. Bumphus, AACC president and CEO. “I am confident that Dr. Head will represent and advocate for community colleges effectively on the national level.”

AACC is governed by a 32-member board of directors. The board acts on behalf of the institutional members to create and maintain a vision for AACC and to determine and ensure that the organization adheres to appropriate standards of performance. The board is committed to guaranteeing accountability of AACC to the membership.

The national election, held in February 2020, resulted in the election of six institutional members and two affiliated council members, all current community college CEOs. In addition to certifying election results, the board appointed LSC Chancellor Stephen C. Head as an institutional at-large member and Temple College President Christina Ponce as a public at-large member of the board.

“The AACC staff, current board members and I look forward to welcoming Steve to the board of directors,” said Bumphus.

David Harrison (Columbus State Community College president), John Rainone (Dabney Lancaster Community College president) and Alissa Young (Hopkinsville Community College president) also were appointed to fill the unexpired term of board members who resigned from their board positions.

Appointed as the fourth chancellor of Lone Star College in 2014, Dr. Head has enjoyed a 30-year history of high-level positions at LSC including president of Lone Star College-North Harris, executive vice chancellor, acting chief executive officer, interim president at Montgomery College and president of Kingwood College.

Comments •
Log In to Comment