Lone Star College Board of Trustees swears in new members, names new officers

By: Bill Van Rysdam
| Published 12/07/2018


HOUSTON, Texas -- New members who were elected to the Lone Star College Board of Trustees Nov. 6 were sworn into office during the December meeting. The new members are Michael Stoma representing District 1, Ernestine M. Pierce representing District 2, and Mike Sullivan representing District 8.

“I am grateful for the service these board members provide to Lone Star College,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “Their enthusiasm for education is truly inspiring and I look forward to working with them to ensure our community continues to have access to affordable, high quality higher education.”

In addition to swearing in the new trustees, members selected Dr. Alton Smith to serve a second term as chairman of the board. Smith represents District 3 in the Lone Star College System.

“I am appreciative of the honor to serve as board chair for a second term,” said Smith. “I would like to welcome our new members and am excited to continue to work with the chancellor and my fellow board members to continue the mission of Lone Star College.”

Other officer positions that the board appointed at the Dec. 6 meeting: Myriam Saldívar, vice chairman; Art Murillo, secretary; and Linda S. Good, assistant secretary.

Board members are elected as representatives of nine single-member districts by citizens in the Lone Star College in-district service area in November of even-numbered years and serve terms of six years each.

LSC trustees serve staggered terms – three of nine trustees come up for election every two years – so that there are always experienced members sitting on the board.

Comments •
Log In to Comment