Voters select two new Lone Star College Board of Trustees members

By: Bill Van Rysdam
| Published 11/04/2020


HOUSTON, TX - The Lone Star College Board of Trustees will have two new members following last night’s election. The newly elected members will each serve six year terms and begin their service at the Dec. 10, 2020, Board of Trustees meeting.

Representing District 3 will be Iesheia Ayers-Wilson and District 9 Jim Cain.

“I look forward to working with the newly elected members of the Lone Star College System Board of Trustees,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “I also want to express my appreciation to the returning board members for their commitment to our students helping provide the resources necessary to receive the highest quality of education possible.”

Trustees are elected by voters who live in the LSC district for which the single-member district election is being held. LSC trustees serve staggered terms – three of nine trustees come up for election every two years – so that there are always experienced members sitting on the board.

The LSCS Board of Trustees adopted an order declaring unopposed candidate Art Murillo elected as Trustee for District 4 on the Board of Trustees and canceling the November 2020 election for District 4 only during a special meeting held Sept. 4.

“I would personally like to thank Alton Smith and Ken E Lloyd for their years of service,” said Head. “Their work and impact will be felt for years to come.”

In addition to the newly elected Trustees, Michael Stoma, Ernestine M. Pierce, Art Murillo, David Vogt, Myriam Saldívar, Linda Good and Mike Sullivan will continue to serve on the board.

Comments •
Log In to Comment