The John Cooper School band members stand out state-wide

By: Caitlin Ramirez
| Published 01/27/2023


THE WOODLANDS, TX -- The John Cooper School Bands represented the School well in recent months, participating in bands with the Texas Private School Music Education Association (TPSMEA) and Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA).

Junior Ian Hou made TMEA’s 6A All State Band for the third consecutive year, a notable feat.

“TMEA is both public and private schools in the state of Texas,” explained Cooper’s Band Director, Tony Yarbrough.

“There are several thousand students auditioning…in each instrument. This makes for around 10,000 flute players, and over 100,000 students trying out. For Ian to make it three times in a row…that makes him one of the top French horn players in the United States.”

Four Upper Schoolers were selected for the TMEA All-Region Band:

Ian Hou

Daniel Milan

Ruyi Wang

Jason Xiao

Both Middle Schoolers Cayson Wang and Luke Milan were selected for the TMEA Middle School Band. Luke Milan’s remarkably high scores also landed him in the TMEA Region Orchestra.

Cooper’s Band students dominated the TPSMEA region bands.

“In the TPSMEA High School Region Band, Cooper represented over 60 percent of the group,” said Yarbrough. “We made up 75 percent of the TPSMEA Middle School Region Band.”

The All- Region Band weekend took place January 6-7 at Strake Jesuit High School in Houston.

TPSMEA South Zone Middle School Honor Band Members

Raya Al-Aghbar

Rafael Angulo

David Bany

Ian Barrenechea

Michael Basford

Jonas Boone

Britt Williams-Bunts

Luciano Cautilli

Alex Creel

Carson Dunlop

Sebastian Durisek

Pranjal Gupta

Lila Hernandez

Cade Kaiser

Rohan Kansal

Laura Keiser

Thatcher Kennedy

Mina King

Colette Koh

Wyatt Lowrance

Luke Milan

Scarlett Moore

Tucker Pate

Timofey Pavlov

Giulio Pizzini

Liam Reeves

Anna Sims

Hugo Tipler

Marc Valle

Divya Venugopal

Will Victor

Karl Vielma

Julio Fernandez Villareal

Carson Walker

Andy Wang

Cayson Wang

Chris Wang

Caleb Youngblood

TPSMEA South Zone High School Region Band Members

Jack Anderson

Jaiden Briscoe

Mary Broussard

Ethan Brown

Martin Buberl

Ella Cho

Zachary Diaz

Caden Flowers

Owen Gilroy

JJ Groppe

Zakariya Hashmi

Liam Hebral

Oscar Hollingsworth

Jaden Hou

Ian Hou

Ulysses Hsu

Susannah Keiser

Ben Knight

Sam Knight

Danny Leoro

Nick Mattner

Daniel Milan

Vikaas Mohan

Adam Rana

Amir Rizvi

Leah Ruckman

Nathan Seamans

Dylan Tao

Maddie Wang

Ruyi Wang

Kyle Wang

Hannah Wene

Jason Xiao

Suri Yang

Shiney Yu

Seventeen Upper School Band members were selected for this year’s TPSMEA All-State Band.

“We have some really great kids,” said Yarbrough. These students will travel to Dallas to perform with other band students across Texas from January 25-28.

Upper School Band members selected for the 2022-2023 TPSMEA All-State Band:

Ella Cho

Zachary Diaz

Caden Flowers

Owen Gilroy

Zakariya Hashmi

Liam Hebral

Jaden Hou

Ian Hou

Sam Knight

Tim Lu (all-state jazz)

Daniel Milan

Vikaas Mohan

Adam Rana

Lilly Vernon (all-state orchestra)

Ruyi Wang

Jason Xiao

Suri Yang

For more information on TMEA, visit their website here:
For more information on TPSMEA, visit their website here:

Comments •
Log In to Comment