Site
Sponsor

Houston Sleep Solutions Blog

Health - Sleep Category
Sort By:
Displaying: 27 articles
Posted Sun, Jun 26, 2022
If you have sleep apnea, you will often stop breathing during sleep. The two main forms of the disease are obstructive sleep apnea (due to physical airway obstruction) and central sleep apnea (due to loss of signal in the brain).
Posted Fri, Jun 03, 2022
It’s a great idea to be immersed in a comfortable and warm bed every night, in a way that weighs you down all night and allows you to relax and unwind every morning.
Posted Fri, May 20, 2022
Most mouthpieces for sleep apnea work by moving the jaw forward. These sleep apnea protectors, also called jaw apnea (JAD) or mandibular advance device (MAD), increase the size of the upper respiratory tract, thereby reducing the air resistance ...
Posted Tue, May 03, 2022
Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is one of the most common types of sleep apnea and affects almost 2% of women and 4% of men worldwide.
Posted Mon, Apr 11, 2022
If you have mild to moderate OSA and cannot tolerate or are not helped by CPAP therapy, an oral device may be an effective treatment option.
Posted Wed, Mar 30, 2022
Numerous studies have shown an association between sleep apnea and problems such as type 2 diabetes, stroke, heart attacks, and even short life expectancy.
Posted Fri, Mar 18, 2022
Sleep apnea is a disease that affects breathing during sleep. The word apnea comes from the Greek word for “short breath”. Sleep apnea is a chronic health problem, and as such is a progressive condition, which means it is likely to get worse.
Posted Mon, Feb 28, 2022
Sleep apnea is a common disease and can be experienced by anyone. But it is more common in men than in women.
Posted Mon, Feb 21, 2022
Snoring, periods of respiratory arrest, insomnia, and hypersomnia are common symptoms and side effects of sleep apnea.
Posted Tue, Feb 08, 2022
During sleep, your body is supposed to be restoring and recharging. Hormones get released that help your body and cells repair after the daytime stresses of life.
Posted Thu, Jan 20, 2022
Research studies have shown an association between sleep apnea and problems like diabetes, stroke, heart attacks, even a reduced lifespan.
Posted Mon, Dec 27, 2021
Sleep apnea severity varies from person to person. It’s completely normal to experience breathing pauses up to five times per hour for adults and once per hour for kids.
Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2021
Regarding sleep apnea treatment, there are now even more options. Two of the best-known are Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) Therapy and Oral Appliance Therapy.
Posted Tue, Nov 30, 2021
Central sleep apnea is a condition in which your breathing stops repeatedly and starts during sleep.
Posted Tue, Nov 09, 2021
Central sleep apnea (CSA) is a condition in which breathing stops and starts repeatedly during sleep.
Posted Mon, Oct 25, 2021
Houston Sleep Solutions Blog reviews Sleep Apnea Statistics in the US and Worldwide
Posted Wed, Oct 20, 2021
If you have symptoms of sleep apnea, contact Houston Sleep Solutions in Pearland and Friendswood TX, and may ask you to do a sleep apnea test called a polysomnogram (PSG).
Posted Fri, Oct 15, 2021
At Houston Sleep Solutions, in Pearland, TX, and Friendswood, TX, we’d love to sit down and discuss how we can help you with your sleep apnea, without a CPAP device.
Posted Tue, Oct 12, 2021
For those who are diagnosed with sleep apnea, getting a good night’s rest can be challenging. Contact Houston Sleep Solutions in Pearland or Friendswood, TX to discuss a treatment plan
Posted Mon, Oct 04, 2021
Always check with Houston Sleep Solutions about your unique needs for sleep apnea treatment.
Posted Mon, Oct 04, 2021
When you hear the term “dental appliance,” you may think of things like dentures, orthodontic appliances, or even mouth guards that prevent digestion at night.
Posted Fri, Oct 01, 2021
Houston Sleep Solutions in Pearland or Friendswood TX can help you diagnose and treat your sleep apnea.
Posted Mon, Sep 27, 2021
Nighttime snoring can keep you and your partner awake, ruin your sleep cycles, daily body rhythms, even harm your relationships.
Posted Tue, Sep 21, 2021
Houston Sleep Solutions in Friendswood and Pearland, Texas can provide you with the accurate diagnosis you’re looking for, but it’s important to note that there are some differences between men’s and women’s sleep apnea.
Posted Wed, Sep 15, 2021
In-lab sleep tests have advantages and disadvantages. Talk to your doctor about your test preference and contact Houston Sleep Solutions to discuss a treatment plan.
Posted Tue, Sep 14, 2021
If using a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine is not tolerable by you, you might be able to find a different type of airway pressure device that automatically adjusts the pressure while you’re sleeping.
Posted Mon, Sep 13, 2021
Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) is a common affliction, although certain factors can increase your risk of being affected by it.