Conroe municipal runoff election results are in

By: Woodlands Online Staff
| Published 06/17/2024


THE WOODLANDS, TX – The runoff election to decide the new Conroe mayor and two city council positions concluded over the weekend. More than 6,600 registered voters – about ten percent of all eligible voters – cast their ballots over an early voting period and last Saturday’s election day.

Duke Coon, former mayor pro tem and city council member, garnered slightly more than 54 percent of the vote over current city council member Todd Yancey to clinch the mayoral spot.

For City Council Place 1, David Hairel took nearly 53 percent of the vote to over Susan Johnson. For Place 2, Shana Arthur wrested the seat from incumbent Curt Maxxus with nearly 54 percent of the vote.

Additionally, Tom Vandever won over James Baldridge for River Plantation MUD Director by nearly a two-thirds margin.

Voting results aren’t official until completely certified by the Texas Elections Commission.

Comments •
Log In to Comment