St. Luke’s Health Hospitals earn ‘A’ hospital safety grades from The Leapfrog Group

By: St. Luke's Health
| Published 05/01/2024


THE WOODLANDS, TX – Five St. Luke’s Health hospitals earned “A” Hospital Safety Grades from The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit watchdog. Leapfrog assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” or “F” grade to general hospitals across the country based on over 30 measures of errors, accidents, injuries and infections as well as the systems hospitals have in place to prevent them. The following five St. Luke’s hospitals across Texas received “A” grades for Fall 2024:

  • St. Luke's Health-Memorial Hospital Livingston
  • St. Luke's Health-Memorial Hospital Lufkin
  • St. Luke’s Health-Patients Medical Center
  • St. Luke’s Health-The Vintage Hospital
  • St. Luke’s Health-The Woodlands Hospital

New grade for spring 2024 is a national recognition for patient safety

“Delivering safe quality care takes an unwavering commitment from everyone at our hospitals, and I am proud of the incredible work of our teams at St. Luke’s Health for earning ‘A’ Hospital Safety Grades from The Leapfrog Group,” said Megan Fischer, Interim South Region Vice President, Quality and Patient Safety. “We are committed to providing remarkable experiences to every patient as we deliver care with humankindness to communities across Texas at St. Luke's and CommonSpirit's entire South Region."

“Everyone who works at St. Luke’s Health should be proud of this ‘A’ Hospital Safety Grade,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “It takes complete dedication at every level, and an ironclad commitment to putting patients first. I thank St. Luke’s, its leadership, clinicians, staff, and volunteers for caring so deeply for its patients and their safety.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital ratings program focused exclusively on preventable medical errors, infections and injuries that kill more than 500 patients a day nationally. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually, in the fall and spring.

To see St. Luke’s full grade details and to access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit and follow The Leapfrog Group on X (formerly Twitter), Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram and via The Leapfrog Group newsletter.

About St. Luke’s Health

St. Luke’s Health is home to 16 hospitals covering Houston, Brazos Valley, Brazosport, and Lufkin and includes Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, the research and teaching hospital for Baylor College of Medicine. St. Luke’s Health is also home to the Texas Heart ®Institute (THI), the top-ranked heart center in Houston, and the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, a nationally accredited, NCI-designated cancer center. Its integrated network of care includes more than 380 employed and 1,600 clinically aligned network providers, and more than 21,000 employees, providers, interns, and volunteers delivering high-value, nationally-ranked quality care within a Christian ministry of healing. St. Luke’s Health is a part of CommonSpirit Health.

Comments •
Log In to Comment