Site
Sponsor

The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness

Lose Weight Today!
Sort By:
Displaying: 44 articles
Posted Thu, Nov 17, 2022
It’s Fall again. This year, there’s no reason to feel guilty. This Pecan pie will fool all of your sugar loving friends
Posted Thu, Nov 10, 2022
As we move into the cold and flu season, take precautions now to protect yourself and your family from infections.
Posted Wed, Nov 02, 2022
Last week, I drove by an Arby’s fast food chain where the sign read “Try Arby’s New Wagyu
Posted Wed, Oct 26, 2022
Keto Cranberry Sauce and Pumpkin Bread are two great options to make Thanksgiving healthier!
Posted Wed, Oct 19, 2022
Rapamycin, also known as Sirolimus, is a prescription drug derived from a bacterial species found on Easter Island decades ago.
Posted Wed, Oct 12, 2022
Vitamin D is essential for good health. This fat soluble vitamin has anti-depressant effects, increases calcium absorption in the GI tract, enhances immune function, has anti-cancer effects, and is anti-inflammatory.
Posted Wed, Oct 05, 2022
We can search for anything on the world wide web these days.
Posted Wed, Sep 28, 2022
Witch Hazel is a native North American shrub that has powerful medicinal properties and a wide variety of uses.
Posted Thu, Sep 22, 2022
One might expect that in the most remote places in the world, the rainwater would be pure and safe to drink.
Posted Wed, Sep 14, 2022
In Functional Medicine we take an individual and multi-faceted approach to resolving iron deficiency.
Posted Wed, Sep 07, 2022
Iron deficiency is quite common and can be caused by many factors.
Posted Wed, Aug 31, 2022
About 70% of the iron in our body is located in red blood cells where it forms hemoglobin. We must have sufficient stores of iron in order to make new red blood cells, and also replicate DNA for cellular repair.
Posted Wed, Aug 24, 2022
I had been vaping 2 pods a day for seven years and ONDAMED helped me quit in two days.
Posted Wed, Jul 27, 2022
Easy Avocado Hummus – This is a very simple, quick and delightful change up, especially for the bean or seed sensitive!
Posted Thu, Jul 21, 2022
Salt is a flavor most of us really enjoy. Salt is life-giving. Every cell in your body relies on it for regulation of body fluids, bone density, blood sugar stabilization, good circulation and muscle and nerve function.
Posted Wed, Jul 13, 2022
Inflammation lies at the root of most disease pathways, pain, and other symptoms. Reducing inflammation is mission critical to feeling better and avoiding many lifestyle diseases of our day.
Posted Thu, Jul 07, 2022
There was a time in history when this conversation was unnecessary, and wheat (our primary source of gluten) would have been included in a healthy
Posted Thu, Jun 23, 2022
When you use a good quality olive oil for cooking, it’s not doing for you nutritionally what you expected it to do.
Posted Wed, Jun 15, 2022
There’s trouble with seafood. Our oceans are not as pristine as they used to be.
Posted Wed, Jun 01, 2022
Whether it’s Monkeypox, COVID, or flu and cold season, it is always a good reminder to our patients and friends that we should always be engaged in ensuring our immune function is operating optimally.
Posted Thu, May 19, 2022
All artificial sweeteners, including aspartame, sucralose, saccharin, neotame, advantame, and acesulfame potassium-k, interfere with the normal and healthy activity of gut bacteria.
Posted Fri, May 13, 2022
The Food Industry is quick to pick up on rising trends and then capitalize on them, but not always in honest ways.
Posted Thu, May 12, 2022
There are many vitamins and nutrients needed for your body to function as it should.
Posted Wed, May 04, 2022
The 2022 Shopper’s Guide for Produce from the Environmental Working Group is out.
Posted Thu, Apr 28, 2022
The Plant Based non-meat “meat” industry is taking off as many proponents of a greener planet argue that eliminating the beef industry will save the planet.
Posted Wed, Apr 20, 2022
Mainstream medicine and media continue to express uncertainty regarding the use of aspirin to protect against cardiovascular disease.
Posted Wed, Apr 13, 2022
This protein banana bread is a deliciously moist breakfast or snack bread.
Posted Thu, Apr 07, 2022
Food allergies and food sensitivities are not the same thing. Traditional allergists generally rely on food allergy testing only, which is also what is taught in medical school as the standard protocol.
Posted Wed, Mar 30, 2022
Root Cause of Disease by Mila McManus MD of The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness
Posted Wed, Mar 23, 2022
Global markets for collagen supplements have grown by double digits for the last three years.
Posted Wed, Mar 16, 2022
This white chicken chili is a healthy one-pot recipe that won’t disappoint!
Posted Wed, Mar 09, 2022
Mistletoe (aka Viscum Album) is the most studied plant used for alternative and complementary cancer therapies.
Posted Thu, Mar 03, 2022
We expect our food to be what it says on the ingredient label. We assume the gasoline we put in our cars is not watered down.
Posted Thu, Feb 24, 2022
One of the most frequent questions I get as the staff nutritionist is about protein powders and green superfood powders.
Posted Wed, Feb 16, 2022
Haven’t found the perfect solution for better sleep and less anxiety yet? DHH-B, sourced from the bark, leaves, and flowers of the houpo magnolia tree, may give you the relief you seek!
Posted Thu, Feb 10, 2022
Our medical staff strongly urges adults and children to avoid sports drinks. As indicated below, most individuals can adequately hydrate with filtered, clean water!
Posted Wed, Feb 02, 2022
Effective, January 1, 2022, The USDA, through The National Bioengineered Food Disclosure law requires all food manufacturers to disclose if genetically modified ingredients are in their products.
Posted Wed, Jan 26, 2022
Traditional medicine and modern research are claiming that fulvic acid (FvA) can modulate the immune system and influence the oxidative status of cells.
Posted Wed, Jan 12, 2022
A delicious salad with flexible choices. *Alternatives to Brussels sprouts include arugula, cabbage slaw, or shredded romaine. Field greens would work too!
Posted Wed, Jan 05, 2022
The human body needs routine maintenance now more than ever. While a targeted effort at detoxification may have been optional in decades past, it is essential in our toxic times for anyone desiring to obtain or maintain optimal health, sustain s...
Posted Wed, Dec 29, 2021
Recognizing that we don’t live in a perfect world, and that alcohol consumption is a real component of many holiday celebrations, below you’ll find some recommendations to help protect your brain and liver from alcohol toxicity while still enjoy...
Posted Thu, Dec 23, 2021
Controlling carbohydrates is critical to weight loss, reducing inflammation, and managing all disease models
Posted Wed, Dec 15, 2021
The Journal of the American Medical Association [JAMA] published results of a 2019 study which assessed the association between functional medicine and patient-reported
Posted Mon, Dec 06, 2021
Try this healthy salad dressing recipe for some extra spice. It’s also yeast free and qualified during your Health Reset Protocol.